Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Encyclopedia of Ancient Literature by
This work features more than 500 entries covering the literary works, writers, and concepts of the ancient world, from the beginnings to approximately 500 CE. Ranging from ancient Greece and Rome to China, Egypt, Japan, India, Persia, Babylonia, the Hebrew world, and more, it provides an extensive overview of this period of literature.
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World by
More than 4,000 years ago, the ancient Greeks invaded the rugged hills and fertile plains of the Balkan Peninsula, and in the centuries that followed, they built one of the greatest and most influential civilizations in history. Their enduring legacy to modern society includes mythology, poetry, drama, sculpture, architecture, science, and political thought. Spanning more than 2,000 years, from the beginning of Minoan civilization in the third millennium BCE to the Roman annexation of mainland Greece in 146 BCE, Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World, Third Edition provides a comprehensive survey of the classical Greek world.
A Guide to the Ancient World: A Dictionary of Classical Place Names by
Each location is provided an entry that includes an essay on the historical or mythological events associated with the site, along with references to the classical writers from whom we draw our knowledge, such as Xenophone, Herodotus, Homer, Josephus, and Julius Caesar. Entries include modern place names, archaeological information, and precise geographical location. A reference book for readers of classical literature and history and useful background reading for travellers – whether actual or armchair – Guide to the Ancient World includes 16 maps that locate every entry in the book.
Dictionary of Classical Mythology by
Jenny March’s acclaimed Dictionary of Classical Mythology, first published in 1998 but long out of print, has been extensively revised and expanded including a completely new set of beautiful line-drawing illustrations for this Oxbow edition. It is a comprehensive A – Z guide to Greek and Roman mythology. All major myths, legends and fables are here, including gods and goddesses, heroes and villains, dangerous women, legendary creatures and monsters.
Encyclopedia of Medieval Literature by
This guide to medieval literature encompasses a broad sweep of people, cultures, and styles, offering a comprehensive account of the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Middle Ages, from 500 to 1500 CE. It covers not only European literature but also that of India, the Far East, and the Muslim world.
Encyclopedia of Renaissance Literature by
This comprehensive reference to the literary works, writers, and concepts of the Renaissance, spanning the years from approximately 1500 to 1660 CE, examines the history and development of literature as it flourished around the world during this period. Coverage includes not only European literature but also the people and works of China, India, Japan, the Islamic world, and the Jewish diaspora, as well as written and oral literature of the New World, Africa, and Oceania.
Encyclopedia of the Romantic Era, 1760-1850 by
Explores the developments that influenced the profound changes in thought and sensibility during the second half of the eighteenth century and the first half of the nineteenth century.