Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Essential Bible Dictionary by
If you are looking for a Bible study tool that is compact, easy to understand, and does not require a Bible degree to use, then the Essential Bible Dictionary is for you. In addition to defining words, places, people, and the many themes of the Bible, this concise reference work is visually stimulating, with full-color images and illustrations. Ideal for use in devotions or personal Bible study.
Encyclopedia of English Language Bible Versions by
“This encyclopedia is an up-to-date and comprehensive reference work that includes internet versions along with print versions and offers details not found in other reference works. Scripture samples, bibliographic entries, translator lists, revision connections, variations of the texts, word substitutions and source texts are just some of the information found in this work” –Provided by publisher.
A Complete Handbook of Literary Forms in the Bible by
To truly understand God’s Word, we must know both what it says (content) and how it says it (form). This accessible guide features over 250 alphabetically arranged entries explaining common literary forms found in the Bible. Each entry contains a succinct definition, helpful illustrations, and a representative list of passages where that particular literary form is present. More than merely a dictionary, this indispensable resource will help Bible readers better understand the underlying structure of Scripture-giving a clearer shape and deeper meaning to each and every page of God’s Word.
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols by
This is the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than universal psychological archetypes or myths. It explains and illustrates the literary symbols that we all frequently encounter, and gives hundreds of cross-references and quotations. The dictionary concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literatures.
Hebrew Bible/Old Testament
Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books by
"The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Historical Books presents articles on numerous historical topics as well as major articles focused on the books of Joshua, Judges, Samuel, Kings, Chronicles, Ezra and Nehemiah. Other articles focus on the Deuteronomistic History as well as the Chronicler’s History, the narrative art of Israel’s historians, innerbiblical exegesis, text and textual criticism, and the emergence of these books as canonical. One feature is a series of eight consecutive articles on the periods of Israel’s history from the settlement to the postexilic period, which forms a condensed history of Israel within the DOTHB. Syro-Palestinian archaeology is surveyed in one article, while significant archaeological sites receive focused individual treatment. Other articles delve into the histories and cultures of the great neighboring empires – Egypt, Assyria, Babylonia and Persia – as well as lesser peoples, such as the Ammonites, Edomites, Moabites, Philistines and Phoenicians. In addition there are articles on architecture, agriculture and animal husbandry, roads and highways, trade and travel, and water and water systems.” — Jacket.
Dictionary of Paul and His Letters by
Contains over two hundred alphabetically arranged articles on topics related to Pauline literature and theology, and includes cross-references, bibliographies, and subject and scripture indexes.
Dictionary of Jesus and the Gospels by
Jesus has been proposed as sage, shaman, revolutionary, marginal Jew, Mediterranean peasant or a prophet of Israel’s restoration. The non-canonical Gospels have been touted, examined and reassessed. There are revised understandings of historiography, orality, form criticism, empire and more. The second edition of the DJG amply weighs and assess the gains and shortcomings of this new scholarship. Here is a self-contained reference library of information and perspective essential to exploring Jesus and the Gospels. This volume bridges the gap between scholars and those pastors, teachers, students and interested readers who want thorough treatments of key topics in an accessible and summary format. Articles cover each Gospel, major themes in the Gospels, key episodes in the life of Jesus, significant background topics, as well as issues and methods of interpretation. — Publisher.
Dictionary of New Testament Background by
In a time when our knowledge of the ancient Mediterranean world has grown by leaps and bounds, this volume sets out for readers the wealth of Jewish and Greco-Roman background that should inform our reading and understanding of the New Testament and early Christianity. The Dictionary of New Testament Background takes full advantage of the flourishing study of the Dead Sea Scrolls and offers individual articles focused on the most important scrolls. In addition, the Dictionary encompasses the fullness of second-temple Jewish writings, whether pseudepigraphic, rabbinic, parables, proverbs, histories or inscriptions. Articles abound on aspects of Jewish life and thought, including family, purity, liturgy and messianism. The full scope of Greco-Roman culture is displayed in articles ranging across language and rhetoric, literacy and book culture, religion and cults, honor and shame, patronage and benefactors, travel and trade, intellectual movements and ideas, and ancient geographical perspectives.